For Canada-EU CETA Purposes,
The EU Includes Martinique,
Saint Martin And Other Territories

July 19, 2017
Authored by Cyndee Todgham Cherniak

They say you learn something new every day.  Today, when I reviewed the “Regulations Defining “EU country or other CETA beneficiary"”, I learned that the places covered by the Canada-EU CETA are broader than I thought.  The Regulations appeared in the July 15, 2017 Canada Gazette, Part I.

It is time for a geography lesson and history lesson.  Which countries and territories benefit from CETA preferential tariffs has historical roots to colonial times.  The countries and territories from which certain goods my be imported duty-free are:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark (excluding the Faroe Islands and Greenland)
  • Estonia
  • Finland, including the Åland Islands
  • France, including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint Bartélemy and Saint Martin (and excluding French Polynesia, the French South Southern and Antarctic Territories, New Caledonia and Dependencies, Saint Pierre and Miquelon and the Wallis and Futuna Islands)
  • Germany, including the island of Heligoland ad the territory of Büsingen
  • Greece, including Mount Athos
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy, including the municipalities of Livigno and Campione d’Italia and the Italian waters of Lake Lugano
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands, (excluding Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, and Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba)
  • Poland
  • Portugal, including the Azores and Madeira
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain, including Ceuta and Melilia and the Canary Islands
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom, including the Channel Islands, Gibralter, Isle of Man and the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia (excluding Anguilla the British Antarctic Territory, the British Indian Ocean Territory, Bermuda, the British Virin Islands, the Cayman Islands, the Falkland Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Saint Helena and Dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan Da Cunha), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands ad the Turks and Caicos Islands).

*LexSage Professional Corporation is approved by the Law Society of Upper Canada